Green-Got raises €8M in 52 minutes: crowdfunding as a market signal
The bottom line. French sustainable neobank Green-Got closed €8 million in 52 minutes on Crowdcube on 17 June 2026, from 5,286 retail investors. It's a platform record and a European record for this format. The funds will go toward proprietary banking infrastructure and product expansion. Goal: profitability within 18 to 24 months.
Key takeaways
- €8M raised in 52 minutes via Crowdcube — European record on the platform (Maddyness, 2026-06-17)
- 5,286 retail investors, third consecutive campaign after €1.9M in 2023 and €5.2M in 2024 — community total exceeding €15M (melles750.fr, 2026-06-18)
- €3 billion+ in cumulative transactions and nearly €200M collected in savings since the last raise (Maddyness, 2026-06-17)
- Monthly revenue up 3x, in-account transactions up 2.8x between 2024 and 2026 (Maddyness, 2026-06-17)
- Final payment institution license obtained from the ACPR (melles750.fr, 2026-06-18)
What Green-Got does
Green-Got is a neobank founded in 2020, operating in France and Belgium since July 2023. It offers individual current accounts, joint accounts, sole trader accounts, life insurance (GG Planet) and a retirement savings plan. The physical card is used for everyday transactions — the startup claims "a Green-Got card used every second in France" on its website.
The differentiation angle is explicit: Green-Got selects its financial partners and underlying investments based on environmental and social criteria. The company earned B Corp certification in 2024, which requires greater transparency about the impact of its investments. It does not finance fossil fuels.
The positioning targets consumers with explicit values — a segment that has emerged as a mass-market segment in France since 2021. Up against mainstream neobanks (Revolut, Lydia, Sumeria), Green-Got leans on the consistency between values and financial products rather than cashback or crypto. The 4.9/5 rating on both mobile stores and 4.8 on Trustpilot points to an engaged user base, even though the review volume is not officially disclosed.
With its definitive ACPR license as a payment institution, Green-Got breaks free of its technical dependence on third parties to manage customer accounts, payment methods, and cash flows. This is a structural shift, not a marginal improvement.
Raise details
- Amount: €8M
- Date: June 2026
- Round: Crowdfunding (third Crowdcube campaign)
- Lead investors: 5,286 retail investors via Crowdcube
- Co-investors: N/A (100% community round)
- Total raised since 2020: More than €15M in community funding + €3M from the Pale Blue Dot fund (2023) — over €18M in total
- Headquarters: France (city not publicly disclosed)
- Founders: Maud Caillaux (president and co-founder), Andréa Ganovelli (co-founder), Fabien Huet (co-founder) — prior backgrounds not published in the available sources
- Use of funds: Building proprietary banking and payment infrastructure, expanding the product offering (instant transfers, virtual cards, automated savings, business and student plans), path to profitability within 18-24 months
Why this raise matters
The mechanics of this raise deserve as much attention as its size.
52 minutes for €8M is first and foremost a signal of community retention. Green-Got raised €1.9M in 2023, €5.2M in 2024 and €8M in 2026 — a 54% increase on the latest round. The same community comes back, and it comes back with more money. In a market where customer acquisition cost is under pressure, that's an asset that's hard to replicate.
The decision to stick with crowdfunding rather than raising a Series A or B from institutional investors is structural. By keeping its base of individual shareholders, Green-Got maintains a consistent message: its customers are its investors, and its investors use its product. This loop creates an alignment of interests that generalist funds cannot reproduce.
[UNIQUE INSIGHT] The geometric progression of Green-Got's three Crowdcube campaigns (×2.7 between 2023 and 2024, ×1.5 between 2024 and 2026) reveals a gradual ceiling on the investable base. 5,286 subscribers in 2026 versus roughly 3,500 in 2024 — +51% more participants for +54% more funds. The average ticket isn't exploding: it stays around €1,500. Green-Got isn't massively expanding its community between rounds — it converts part of its existing base and deepens it. If the startup wants to raise €15-20M in a fourth round through the same channel, it will have to either significantly expand its active user base, raise individual caps, or combine the round with a parallel institutional raise. The limit of the model is visible in the numbers.
The ACPR license is the real turning point. A neobank dependent on a technical provider for its payment accounts pays reduced margins and is subject to its partner's roadmap constraints. With proprietary infrastructure, Green-Got can adjust its margins, ship products faster, and improve its unit economics per account. It's a prerequisite for profitability, not just a badge.
What this raise reveals about the sustainable fintech market in 2026
Three market takeaways from this round.
Crowdfunding as brand equity for values-driven fintechs
Green-Got isn't using Crowdcube because it can't raise VC funding — Pale Blue Dot (a specialized climate fund) had already backed it in 2023. It's using it because its customers take part. Here, crowdfunding becomes a loyalty and brand-equity tool as much as a financing mechanism. Other startups with explicit values (food, mobility, energy) are watching this model closely. The limitation: ticket sizes are small, and future rounds will likely need to blend institutional and community capital to fund growth at scale.
Licensing as a profitability lever, not a compliance exercise
Green-Got's ACPR approval marks a broader trend: the B2C neobanks that survived 2021-2024 are moving from an "application layer on third-party infrastructure" model to progressive vertical integration. Bunq in the Netherlands and Monzo in the UK have followed this path. In France, obtaining a payment institution license reduces dependence on technical partners and mechanically improves transaction margins. This isn't a regulatory trend, it's an economic decision.
Sustainable finance: a segment, not a niche market
Green-Got processes over €3 billion in cumulative transactions. This figure, which is neither annualized nor publicly audited, needs context — but it signals that the "values-based banking" segment has reached critical mass in France. B Corp banking has taken shape with players such as La Nef (lending), Helios (current accounts) and Green-Got (full-stack neobank). The question is no longer whether this segment exists, but whether one of these players can reach 500,000 to one million active accounts to trigger real profitability at scale. At this stage, none of them has disclosed public figures on active customer numbers.
FAQ
Who are the founders of Green-Got?
Green-Got was founded in 2020 by Maud Caillaux (president and co-founder), Andréa Ganovelli and Fabien Huet. Maud Caillaux is the company's main public spokesperson. The three founders' prior backgrounds are not documented in the published sources available to date.
How much has Green-Got raised in total?
Green-Got has raised more than €18M since its founding: €1.9M via Crowdcube in 2023, €3M from the Pale Blue Dot fund in 2023, €5.2M via Crowdcube in 2024, and €8M via Crowdcube in June 2026. The community total exceeds €15M across three campaigns (melles750.fr, 2026-06-18).
Who are Green-Got's main customers?
Green-Got targets individuals (single and joint accounts), micro-entrepreneurs and — in development — students and professionals. The company operates in France and Belgium. It does not publicly disclose its number of active customers at this stage.
How fast is Green-Got's revenue growing?
Between its 2024 raise and June 2026, Green-Got reports having tripled its monthly revenue and grown in-account transactions by 2.8x. Absolute figures (ARR or MRR) are not publicly disclosed (Maddyness, 2026-06-17).
What will the €8M raised by Green-Got be used for?
The funds cover three areas: building proprietary banking and payment infrastructure (made possible by the final ACPR license), launching new products (instant transfers, virtual cards, automated savings, business and student plans), and reaching profitability within 18 to 24 months (Maddyness, 2026-06-17; melles750.fr, 2026-06-18).
Sources
- Maddyness, Green-Got raises €8 million in 52 minutes to build its sustainable bank, retrieved 2026-06-19, https://www.maddyness.com/2026/06/17/green-got-leve-8-millions-deuros-en-52-minutes-pour-batir-sa-banque-durable/
- melles750.fr, Green-Got raises €8M in 52 minutes, final ACPR approval, retrieved 2026-06-19, https://melles750.fr/articles/2026/2026-06-18-green-got-leve-8-millions-euros-52-minutes-crowdcube-agrement-acpr
- neobanque.ch, Green-Got Raises €8M in 52 Minutes on Crowdcube — A New European Record, retrieved 2026-06-19, https://neobanque.ch/blog/green-got-crowdcube-8-million-52-minutes-european-record-2026/
- Green-Got, official website, retrieved 2026-06-19, https://green-got.com
